Off-campus access to the EBSCOhost article databases requires user name/password combination that consist of your Bethel email prefix and your campus ID (on your ID card you use in the caf.) Here are more detailed instructions.
While many of us rely on the electronic versions of periodicals we find in library databases like EBSCOhost, print periodicals can still be very helpful. In fact, many of the print titles the library has are not available in full text in databases.
In the College Library, the most recent issues can be found on display on the magazine shelving on the main level. Recent back issues can be found in the same location underneath the current issue. Older issues (usually from previous calendar years) are located on the first level of the library (downstairs.)
Full Text Finder will help you locate all full text available through the BC Library, including databases, open access, publisher's websites, and print.
If you come across an article you need for your research and the Bethel College Library does not provide full-text access to it in print or electronic format, request it through Interlibrary Loan. If you are using EBSCOhost databases, an interlibrary loan request form is included (click on the link provided in the EBSCOhost record). If you find an article in another database, in a bibliography, or anywhere else, use the form linked above.
Articles requested through interlibrary loan are delivered by e-mail. Many articles arrive within a few days, though some can take longer depending on the availability of the material.
From Yavapai College Library.
Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:
Many students start their research with Academic Search Premier because it covers many different topics and disciplines. It's also huge: it includes full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. (Many professors will require you to use peer-reviewed or scholarly journals--so ASP is a great place to start.)
Click HERE to access the Advanced Search form for Academic Search Premier (recommended.)
Not every article you find listed in a database is available in full text.
You might find:
--Citation only; no description (abstract) of what the article is about.
--Citation/abstract; includes a description but no full text
--Full text, which includes an electronic version of the article you want. Many times, the article is a .pdf file you can print or download. Other times, the article is just a webpage (html).