Library Research: Step-by-Step: 1d. Find Background Information

Background information can be found in:

• textbooks
• dictionaries
• general encyclopedias
• subject-specific encyclopedias  
• article databases

These sources are often listed on the Find Books tab of our subject guides. You can browse a complete list of the Library's guides by visiting the Guides homepage.

Wikipedia is often a decent place for background information; you can learn about your topic and find links to relevant material at the end of the article (note:  many of those links tend to have disappeared, so be aware of that and don't assume you can use them to pump up your list of sources!)

Once you have identified some key terminology, the next step is to find background information on your topic. Background research serves many purposes.

• If you are unfamiliar with the topic, it provides a good overview of the subject matter.
• It helps you to identify important facts related to your topic -- terminology, dates, events, history, and names or organizations.
• It can help you to refine your topic.
• Background research might lead you to bibliographies that you can use to find additional sources of information on your topic.

The Gale eBooks is a good source of background information, particularly in the social sciences, history, and literature.

If you can't find an encyclopedia, dictionary or textbook article on your topic, try using broader keywords or ask a librarian for help.

For example, if your topic is Global Warming, consider searching for an encyclopedia on the environment.

Also, Bethel faculty can be great resources to help you find background information.  Don't be afraid to ask!