LibGuides: Social Work Resources: Journal Articles

Scholarly vs Popular Journal articles

How to distinguish between popular and scholarly journals and the articles they contain.

Feeling Stuck?

Feeling stuck? Set up a research consultation session with a librarian for one-on-one support. A librarian can help you select and navigate a database to locate relevant, credible articles for your research project.

Email rstucky@bethelks.edu to set up a session in-person, virtual, or by phone.

Journal article databases

All of these databases index peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in the helping professions. Many contain full text.

Academic Search Premier
Authoritative scholarly tool includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
APA PsycINFO
Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
Bethel College Library Catalog
Includes books owned by the Bethel College Libray and Mennonite Library& Archives, along with periodical holdings. NOTE: Only the titles of periodicals are indexed, contents are not.
Search by keyword, author, title, or notes (including chapter titles). Includes non-fiction, fiction, and juvenile/YA literature.
CINAHL Plus in Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
ERIC
Search through education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Some full text is included.
Google Scholar
Find peer-reviewed articles, book chapters and theses from all broad areas of research. If you are on campus, Google Scholar will link articles you find to full text in the library's subscription databases (EBSCOHost, Gale, Blue Skyways, etc.)
JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a online collection of over 500 major academic research journals covering topics in the arts, humanities, business, and social sciences. For the most part, BC Library patrons do not have access to JSTOR full text. Most of JSTOR's full text content is NOT available to Bethel College. Use interlibrary to get copies of articles you want.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NSJRS) Abstracts
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains more than 220,000 collection records for criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. This includes more than 60,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs works. he NCJRS Abstracts Database presents bibliographic records and abstracts in a searchable format. Links to full-text online resources are provided when and where available. Most documents published by the bureaus, offices, and agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, since 1995 are available in full-text online.
National Rehabilitation Information Center
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
ProQuest Health & Medicine
400+ full text nursing and related fields journals
Social Work Abstracts
Search through more than 900 social work and human services journals. Subjects include but not limited to: homelessness, child/family welfare, AIDs, aging, substance abuse, community organization.

Using Full Text Finder

Use Full Text Finder to find full text in ALL the journals to which the library has access. Journals indexed in EBSCOHost, ProQuest, Gale/Cengage, along with open access journals, are all listed. Additionally, you will find what journals the BC Library has in print by using FTT.

Full Text Finder

Learn to use EBSCOHost

Click HERE for a complete guide to how to use the EBSCOHost family of databases, including Social Work Abstracts, PsychINFO, Academic Search Premier, and CINAHL Plus with Full Text.