Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Green Book
The Green Book is published by the House Ways & Means Committee to provide background information and data on government programs under the jurisdiction of this committee. It includes succinct information on Social Security, Unemployment Insurance, Medicare, Social Services Block Grants and other benefits programs important to social work.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
This database contains summaries and citations for more than 200,000 publications on juvenile justice, family violence, drugs and crime, rape, gang crimes and other criminal justice issues. Citations are available from research reports, journal articles, books, and unpublished research.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Administration for Children & Families, the Child Welfare Information Gateway offers a library of articles on child welfare and adoption issues. Many but not all articles are available online for free. Some may need to be ordered or requested from your local library using interlibrary loan services.
Browse lists of web sites which address specific subject areas related to substance abuse and mental health or browse information based on age group or setting.
The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to find demographic and economic information, data, and maps from U.S. Federal decennial censuses and the American Community Survey.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
An excellent freely available bibliographic database sponsored by the Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. Many of the top social work journals are indexed in ERIC and some articles are available as full-text PDF files. Others can be received by using interlibrary loan services from your local library.
FDSYS - Federal Digital System
The U.S. Government Printing Office provides links to freely available government hearings, reports, public and private laws, the Federal Register and the U.S Code.
Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness
The Department of Health and Human Services provides this site to review and assess evidence of effectiveness of home visiting program models that target families with pregnant women and children from birth to age 5. It is a collection of research evidence and model programs related to home visits.
Legislative histories/research about proposed legislation
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
Every CRS Report
Congressional Research Service reports are the best way for anyone to quickly get up to speed on major political issues without having to worry about spin — from the same source Congress uses.
CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress. (More: What is a CRS report?)
Until today, CRS reports were generally available only to the well-connected.
Now, in partnership with a Republican and Democratic member of Congress, we are making these reports available to everyone for free online.