Book Reviews: Find reviews: Subject databases

No database listed in your subject?  Go to the Find reviews: General Databases page and use those!

Full Text Finder checks all library resource (both online and print) to see if the article you want is available in full text.

If you have questions, contact Renae Stucky

• E-mail
• via Ask the Librarian page

Don't forget to search Academic Search Premier first for book reviews in practically all disciplines!

Art

• Art Abstracts. An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.
• Art Full Text. An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.

Bible and Religion

• Religion and Philosophy Collection. An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.

Biology

• Applied Science and Technology Abstracts.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.
• BioMed Central.   Search "book review" author's last name or book title (phrases must be in quotation marks)
• Directory of Open Access Journals.  Search book review (first search box) AND author's last name or book title (second search box).
• GREENFile.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.

Business & Economics

• Business Source Premier.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.
• Small Business Reference Center.     Select "Advanced Search" and restrict "Publication Type" to Review.

Chemistry

• Applied Science and Technology Abstracts.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.
• BioMed Central.   Search "book review" author's last name or book title (phrases must be in quotation marks)
• Directory of Open Access Journals.  Search book review (first search box) AND author's last name or book title (second search box).
• Medline. An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.

Business & Economics

• Business Source Premier.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.

Communication Arts

• Communication & Mass Media Complete.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Book Review.

Education

• ERIC An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Publication Type" to Book/Product Reviews.

History

• History Reference Center.  Search "books-reviews" as a SUBJECT; insert author or title in second search box.

Literary Studies

• Literary Reference Center.  In Advanced Search, select Document Type "Reviews."

         Note that MLA International Bibliography is not a good source of book reviews; its website states: "The following kinds of writing are generally   excluded from the bibliography: fiction, poetry, book reviews, unpublished dissertations, and entries in reference books."

Nursing

• CINAHL Plus with Full Text.  An EBSCOHost database.  Limit "Publication Type" to Book Review.
• ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source.  Select "Document Type"; Look up document type; Click Book Review Add to Search.

Psychology

• PsycINFO.  An EBSCOHost database.  Restrict "Document Type" to Review-Book.
• Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection.  Search "books-reviews" as a SUBJECT; insert author or title in second search box.

Social Work

• Use Academic Search Premier for best results.