LibGuides: Bethel College Library FAQs: Getting started

Database QuickStart

Bethel College Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Includes books owned by the Bethel College Libray and Mennonite Library& Archives, along with periodical holdings. NOTE: Only the titles of periodicals are indexed, contents are not.
Search by keyword, author, title, or notes (including chapter titles). Includes non-fiction, fiction, and juvenile/YA literature.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 43 million records describing items owned by our libraries or libraries around the world.
WorldCat contains records for the following types of materials:
books*
journals*
musical scores
computer data files
magazines*
newspapers*
computer programs
manuscripts
sound recordings
films and slides
maps
videotapes

* Does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
Kansas Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books owned by Kansas libraries.

For a complete list of library databases, click here

Below are two of the most popular general databases the library offers. Click the link above to see all databases arranged A to Z.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, etc.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Find books at Bethel and other libraries along with citations (and sometimes) full text: all in one database!

How to use this guide

Use the golden/maroon tabs at the top of the page to find answers commonly asked questions about the College Library.

Use the Database Quick Start above if you know you're looking for books and/or periodicals.

If you have any questions, click on the Ask the Librarian link.

Guides homepage

This page provides quick access to the library's many databases and instructional guides. Click HERE to start your research!

Regular Library Hours

Library schedule when classes are in session

Monday-Thursday
8:00am-12:00midnight

Friday
8:00am-5:00pm

Saturday
Closed

Sunday
4:00pm-12:00midnight

Changes in hours will be posted on campus Announce lists as well as this website.

FAQs for faculty and staff

There's a Guide designed to answer your questions about course reserve, purchasing books, and more!

Click here to go directly to that guide.