LibGuides: Online Reference Shelf: News

TV & Radio News

ABC, CBS, and MSNBC.
BBC world news.
CNN cable news.
National Public Radio (NPR).
Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).
Vanderbilt Television News Archive Since August 1968, Archive has recorded, abstracted, and indexed national television newscasts. Videotape loan requests for reference, study, classroom instruction, and research accepted. Covers: -- network television evening news abstracts. special reports &,specialized news collections.

Newspapers Worldwide

ABYZ Newslinks links to more than 16,400 newspapers & other news sources from around the world.
IPL Newspaper Collection links to newspapers worldwide (Internet Public Library).
News and Newspapers Online links to "hundreds of news resources from around the world...that offer full-text news; from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
Newspapers -- USA and Worldwide links to newspapers worldwide, arranged by states in the US, then countries; includes links to newswires.
OnlineNewspapers.com index of over 5,000 online newspapers published in 200 countries.

U.S. Newspapers

List of Free Daily Newspapers (Wikipedia)
NPR Morning Editions Archive.
NPR All Things Considered Archive
NewsLibrary searchable archives (many going back 10 or more years) of newspapers (Knight-Ridder chain). Includes archives of papers currently from: Boulder, CO, Detroit, MI, Long Beach, CA, Miami, Philadelphia, San Jose, St. Paul, MN, and Wichita, KS. Search and retrieval of citations with brief abstract is free.
U.S. News Archives on the Web provides links to US news archives. Papers are arranged by state. Includes the dates of the archive & cost to retrieve the full text. Unless noted, searching is free. Archives of non-US newspaper archives are also available. Pages maintained by Special Libraries Association.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is an online service providing a wealth of information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source™ Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.

All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), etc.
News (AP, UPI, etc.) This link opens in a new window
P News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. End users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.