LibGuides: Citing Sources: Citation generators

EBSCOhost citation generator

EBSCO has a great citation tool you can use to cite your articles. Here's how:

Perform a search in any EBSCO database.
Click on the title of any article from your list that you want to cite.
Click on the cite icon on the right side of the article.
A pop up window will appear with the article or eBook cited in multiple formats. Styles commonly used at Bethel are APA, MLA, and Turabian. Make sure you know which style you need to use for the paper you are working on. Here's an example in MLA format:

5. Copy the citation and paste into your works cited page.

Change It Tips:

Pull out your style manual (Keys for Writers, APA, Turabian, samples from your professor, Purdue OWL) and make sure you edit your citation so it fits your professor's expectations.
If entire words in the citation are capitalized, change it so that only first letters are capitalized.

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib is a free service from Zotero to help you quickly and simply create bibliographies. ZoteroBib lets you seamlessly add items from across the web and generate bibliographies in more than 9,000 citation styles. There’s no software to install or account to create, and it works on any device, including tablets and phones.

To add an item to your bibliography, find it online and paste the URL into the ZoteroBib search box. You can also paste or type in an ISBN, DOI, PubMed ID, or arXiv ID, or you can search by title.

ZoteroBib will fetch the bibliographic info for the item and add it to your bibliography. ZoteroBib can import high-quality data from journal articles, books, newspaper and magazine articles, blog posts, webpages, and more.

If it doesn’t find what you’re looking for or the data is incomplete, the manual editor allows you to enter data by hand.

When you’re done, a single click copies a formatted bibliography to the clipboard for pasting into your word processor, or you can generate a bibliography in HTML to add to a webpage. And, if you want to do more with the bibliography, you can easily save your data to Zotero or export it for loading into any other reference manager.

More information is on the Zotero blog.

Detailed ZoteroBib instructions

You can find detailed instructions on how to use ZoteroBib HERE

Google docs citation tool

Google docs is a free tool integrated into the google doc interface.

Free online citation generators

BibGuru. With BibGuru, you can quickly add all the sources for your paper and make citations in APA, MLA, Harvard, Chicago, and thousands of other citation styles.

Citation Machine

Along with MLA, APA, and Chicago, this citation generator is compatible with at least 10 other popular academic citation styles.

This is also an excellent citation machine for movies. You can find any film you need online through the service and get a reference you can use in a paper.
Access: free; subscription plan for extra features (save unlimited bibliographies and check for plagiarism); registration needed to download a citation in Word or switch format
Functionality: search by title, author, ISBN; the tool fills in the authors’ names and title of the book, while the year and location of publication need to be filled in manually
Extra Features: creating parenthetical citations, checking paper for plagiarism and grammar errors

BibMe.org

This citation tool is very similar to Son of Citation Machine in its functionality and features. The two tools have similar forms and even pop-up windows.

Check your paper for unintentional plagiarism with one click and use grammar suggestions to improve your writing style and get higher grades.
Access: free; subscription plan for extra features
Functionality: search by title, author, ISBN
Extra Features: bibliography and parenthetical citations, grammar and plagiarism check

EasyBib

This citation tool has only limited free access. You can make free citations only in MLA style. The advantage of this citation generator is that it fills in more details than other tools (including the year of publication and publishing company).

The options of types of resources are unlimited—reference blogs, comics, digital images, federal rules, reports, online databases, patents, and many more.
Access: free citations without registration only in MLA style
Functionality: search by title, author, ISBN
Extra Features: APA, Chicago, and about 100 other citation styles are available for pro accounts only

CiteFast

This tool creates citations in the latest editions of APA, MLA, and Chicago.

Use a detailed description of your book, journal, newspaper, and other sources. Answer several questions to get the full reference.
Access: free access; registration needed only to see history of your citations
Functionality: search by title, author, ISBN
Extra Features: you can easily copy and paste your citations, export them in Word, and even keep them for 4 days in your account. Even if you have no account, the site will still show you your previous searches when you get back to it.

Cite This for Me

This tool has an easy-to-use design, which is similar to that of a Microsoft Word document. It creates citations for all citation styles imaginable.

Cite This For Me is an automatic bibliography maker in APA and MLA formats.
Access: basic version is free; premium account ($15 per month) can be used for extra features
Functionality: different resource types; search by title, author, ISBN; export of bibliography or sharing it with a group
Extra Features: pro features include checking for plagiarism, downloading the tool as an add-on, and creating several bibliographies at the same time. RefMe

This tool does a great job formatting citations in more than 7,500 citation styles.

Access: free; sign-up with Facebook is required
Functionality: search by author, title, ISBN, URL
Extra Features: plagiarism and grammar check

KnightCite

This tool creates citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago. You get more than ten characteristics to choose from to make a full description of a source. The generator even includes fields for editions and volumes.

Access: free
Functionality: manual entry of data; a variety of resource types
Extra Features: save and edit previously saved citations

WorksCited4U

This tool creates quick citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago. It is an automatic source citer helping you save a lot of time by filling in as few fields as possible.

Access: free
Functionality: manual entry of data only
Extra Features: n/a

CiteMaker

CiteMaker generates citations in MLA, APA, Harvard, and Oxford.

Access: free; registration for saving a bibliography for 30 days
Functionality: manual entry
Extra Features: in-text citations and bibliography entries

CitationBuilder

Citation Builder specializes in citing sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago.

Access: free
Functionality: manual entry
Extra Features: entries can be easily copied and pasted from the pop-up window

ResearchoMatic

ResearchoMatic is great for citing sources in all major citation styles, including IEEE, MLA, APA, Chicago, and Vancouver.

Access: free; registration necessary
Functionality: manual entry of details
Extra Features: sharing your findings with others

AcademicHelp.net

This free citation generator focuses on MLA, APA, and Chicago format.

Access: free
Functionality: manual entry
Extra Features: copy and paste the received citation

CitationProducer

This tool makes citations in MLA and APA styles.

Access: free
Functionality: manual entry of data
Extra Features: search by ISBN

Ultrasound of the Week

This citation generator is great for making citations in AMA style.

Access: free
Functionality: search by DOI, PMID, URL
Extra Features: copy as HTML or text