MLA Bibliography is the standard, go-to source for finding literary criticism. It offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
MLA International Bibliography also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
If you prefer non-graphical instructions, follow the link below to the Modern Language Association's instructions for using MLA Bibliography.
Searching the MLA International Bibliography.
Bethel College's version of MLA comes from EBSCOHost. You may search the box below or click here to access the advanced search function of MLA International Bibliography.
This video playlist includes the following:
1. What is the MLA International Bibliography?
2. What is the MLA Directory of Periodicals?
3. Searching the MLA International Bibliography versus Using the Library's Home Page Search Function (explains the difference between a library discovery tool, e.g., WorldCat Discovery, and MLA through EBSCOhost or other vendor.)
4. Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
5. Names as Subjects in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
6. Searching Scholarly Web Sites in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
7. How to Limit Searches by Publication Date in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
8. Researching Film, Television, and Radio in the MLA International Bibliography
9. Researching Rhetoric and Composition in the MLA International Bibliography