LibGuides: Legal resources: Cases

Casetext
In just a few years, Casetext has grown into one of the most popular resources in the legal community. We pair free legal research and publishing so you can search state and federal cases, statutes, and regulations, for free, annotated by insights from the country’s leading attorneys, law firms, and academics. Researchers tap into the collective insights of the legal community, while attorney-authors use our exclusive legal publishing technology to build their reputations with 500,000 monthly researchers. (https://casetext.com/about)
FindLaw
FindLaw.com is a free legal information website that helps consumers, small-business owners, students and legal professionals find answers to everyday legal questions and legal counsel when necessary. The site includes case law, state and federal statutes, a lawyer directory, and legal news and analysis.

It also includes a free legal dictionary and magazine called Writ, whose contributors (mostly legal academics) argue, explain and debate legal matters of topical interest.

FindLaw offers website development and Internet advertising services for legal professionals and extended members of the legal community through lawyermarketing.com. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FindLaw)
Google Scholar
Find case law by selecting the "case law" button, then "state cases."
Justia
Justia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. We are especially focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community. (http://company.justia.com/about.html)
Legal Information Institute (LII)
We are a not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. Legal resources include: Constitution, U.S. Code, C.F.R., Supreme Court, Federal Rules, State law resources, State statutes by topic, U.C.C.Uniform laws, World law. (https://www.law.cornell.edu/)

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni is an online service providing a wealth of information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

Oyez
Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project at Chicago-Kent, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is a complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez exclusively offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices. (https://www.oyez.org/about)
Kansas Judiciary
Includes dockets for the state supreme and appellate courts, recently published opinions and more.