LibGuides: History and the Classics: Primary Sources: Historical News Sources

Full Text Long-Running Periodicals

Harper's Monthly Magazine (New York, United States)
1851-1900
Proceedings of the Royal Society (London, England)
Punch (London, England)
1841-1922
Scientific American (New York, United States)
1845-1909
The Spectator (London, England)
1828-2008
Time (New York, United States)
1923-2016

Collections of newspapers and magazines

Newspapers and magazines make periodic records of historical events, and usually make some effort to distinguish fact from opinion, making them invaluable primary sources. Most newspapers do not make their archives available on the open web, however, the following collections of newspapers and magazines are available online:

19th Century British Periodicals
Available through Hathi Trust, a collection of some of the most prominent periodicals published in 19th century Britain, including Punch, The Spectator, The Westminster Review, and the Illustrated London News.
Chronicling America
Elephind
A search engine designed to allow easy searching of many online newspaper archives. Searches content back to the early 19th century, and across many countries.
The European Library (Newspaper Collection)
Searchable database of more than 3,000 European Newspapers. Many are not in English.
Historic Mexican and Mexican-American Press Collection
A searchable collection of Mexican and Mexican American newspapers, largely focused on the years 1850-1950. Made available by the University of Arizona.