Thing 5 – If It Sounds Too Good To Be True… - Financial Literacy

Get Rich Quick!

“It is human nature that all of us want to get rich quick. We want to go into the store, buy the lottery ticket, hit the jackpot, and walk out a millionaire? But what are the odds, really...”

Brad Burnett, “9 Things”

Thing 5 Video

Videos

Helpful Websites

FBI-Internet Fraud

Internet Scams and Fraud Information-USA.gov

National Council on Problem Gambling

Helpful Resources

Helpful Books

The Con by James Munton; Jelita McLeod
ISBN: 1442207310

provides readers with the psychology behind con artists and real-life accounts of scams.
High Stakes by Sam Skolnik
This book is "an unflinching look at the explosive growth of legalized gambling in our country, the concurrent rise of addicted gamblers, and what it all means."
Trust Me by Gordon G. Leek
ISBN: 9781554887057

reveals the world of fraud and scams to the reader with advices on "how a variety of frauds work and how to protect yourself from them."

Databases

Use these databases to find quality articles on topics of interest.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Business Source Premier
This is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998
Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source® Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Financial Literacy: Thing 5 – If It Sounds Too Good To Be True…