Thing 1 – You’ve Got To Have A Plan - Financial Literacy

Financial Plan

"You need to create a financial plan. A financial plan is a road map that outlines where you are and where you are going."

Brad Burnett, "9 Things"

Thing 1 Video

Helpful Websites

Helpful Resources

Financial Calculators - Use the following websites to calculate your personal budget.

Helpful Books

These books are not owned by the BC Library but may be ordered using interlibrary loan. You may also purchase them yourself.

The Graduate's Survival Guide by Rachel Cruze
ISBN: 1937077004

This will help prepare college freshman for the dangers and unanswered questions they have about college.
The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey
ISBN: 1595555277

With The Total Money Makeover: Classic Edition, you’ll be able to:
- Design a sure-fire plan for paying off all debt—meaning cars, houses, everything
- Recognize the 10 most dangerous money myths (these will kill you)
- Secure a big, fat nest egg for emergencies and retirement!
The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous and Broke by Suze Orman
ISBN: 1594482241

This gives advice on Credit card debt, Student loans, Credit scores, The first real job, Buying a first home, Insurance facts: auto, home, renters, health, and the Financial issues of the self-employed.
The Complete Tightwad Gazette by Amy Dacyczyn
ISBN: 0375752250

This discusses Travel for tightwads, How to transform old blue jeans into potholders and quilts, Ten painless ways to save $100 this year, Inexpensive gifts, Slashing your electric bill, Frugal fix-its, Cutting the cost of college, Moving for less, Saving on groceries, And much much more.
Financial Planning for Your First Job by Matthew Brandeburg
ISBN: 1439262195

If you're a young adult who needs the guidance of a financial planner but can't afford the high price tag, this book is for you. Learn how to build your very own financial plan so you can begin your path to financial independence today.
The Pocket Idiot's Guide to Living on a Budget by Peter Sander; Jennifer Basye Sander; Peter J. Sander; Jennifer Basye Sander
ISBN: 9781592574353

Described as being "especially useful for the recent college grad," this book will provide the reader with the basics of budgeting.
The Budget Kit by Judy Lawrence
ISBN: 1607148609

This book guides readers through the steps to creating a successful budget, and includes practical tools that will help the reader "Create monthly and yearly budgets...and more!"
The Only Budgeting Book You'll Ever Need by Tere Stouffer
ISBN: 9781440550102

This book focuses on helping readers create practical and visual budgets.

Online Apps

For Free

Databases

Use these databases to find quality articles on topics of interest.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Business Source Premier
This is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998
Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source® Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Financial Literacy: Thing 1 – You’ve Got To Have A Plan