|
Features |
||
|
Cost |
Free to everyone (costs for upgraded storage, costs for private groups - one private group of 3 members free) |
Free to everyone (costs for upgraded storage) |
|
Operating System |
Macintosh, Windows, Linux |
Macintosh, Windows, Linux |
|
Share data among other citation management programs |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Global edit |
No |
No |
|
Duplicate detection |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Automatic journal abbreviation lists |
None |
Version 4.0 and later can automatically abbreviate journal titles in Index Medicus (MEDLINE) format |
|
Link to PDFs or other materials |
·
|
·
|
|
Retrieve PDF citation data |
· Queries PubMed database for matches. Mixed success. |
· Queries CrossRef, WorldCat and/or Google Scholar. Mixed success. |
|
Add notes to references |
Yes, via "notes" tab in desktop |
Yes, notes can stand alone or be attached to references |
|
Annotate PDFs |
Yes |
No, but will sync PDFs annotated with 3rd party software |
|
Full Text PDF search |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Direct Search of Online Catalogs/Databases |
Automatic capture |
Automatic capture |
|
Direct Export (from databases) |
Yes, via web importer |
Yes, via translators |
|
Filters for importing from online databases |
Imports wikis, websites, and databases via web importer. |
Imports wikis, websites, and databases viatranslators. |
|
Creates formatted bibliographies, in-text citations, and footnotes in word processor |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Edit or create styles |
Yes |
Yes, via Citation Style Editor |
|
Create a Subject Bibliography (Create a list of references grouped by subject or other data field) |
No |
No |
|
Read-only capability |
Yes (By "follow" option through web interface) |
Yes (Via member settings within groups) |
|
Collaboration features |
· Create public and private groups · Automatic synchronization of collections among multiple computers One private group of 3 members free (costs for private groups) |
· Create public and private groups Automatic synchronization of collections among multiple computers |
|
Mobile Device Application |
iPad, iPhone, 3rd party Android apps, web interface |
3rd party iOS and Android apps, web interface |
|
Access citations remotely |
· Yes |
· Yes |
|
Store PDFs in personal citation database |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Screen capture web page content (blogs, streaming video, etc.) |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Storage/Maximum number of records |
Unlimited on desktop (restricted by local storage capacity); 2 GB free web space |
Unlimited on desktop (restricted by local storage capacity); 300 MB free web storage |
|
Maximum number of reference types (e.g. journal, book) |
Pre-defined: 20 |
Pre-defined: 35 |
|
Search and Replace |
No |
No |
|
Auto-complete data entry |
Yes, for journal title, tags, keywords |
Yes, for author(s), journal title, tags |
|
Spell Check |
· No |
· No |
|
Sort capabilites |
Any information categories |
Any information categories |
|
Field Search |
Yes, by author, title, publication names, year & notes |
Yes, by any field |
|
Advanced Search |
No |
Yes. All fields |
|
Edit or create filters |
Yes |
Yes |
|
Create a bibliography as a file within citation manager |
· Word for Windows 2000 or later Word for Mac 98 or later |
· HTML · Rich Text Format (RTF) Copy plain text to clipboard |
|
Export |
Export records to: · BibTeX · EndNote (XML) RIS |
Export records to: · BibTeX · RIS · Refer/BiblX · BIbliontology · MODS and many more |
|
RSS Feeds |
Yes |
Yes |