LibGuides: Communication Arts: Find Articles

Communication Database

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete™ (CMMC) provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Search CMMC now

Multi-disciplinary databases

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
MAS Ultra
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines.
MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a online collection of over 500 major academic research journals covering topics in the arts, humanities, business, and social sciences. For the most part, BC Library patrons do not have access to JSTOR full text.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni is an online service providing a wealth of information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

Business/Advertising/Public Relations

Business Source Premier
This is the industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998
Small Business Reference Center
This resource offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.

Psychological & Social Aspects of Communication

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycInfo
The PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Telecommunications

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, contains citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications.

Finding book reviews

Book Reviews
by Renae Stucky Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 17 views this year

All research databases

The College Library offers a wide variety of databases produced by difference companies. Most of the databases you will use as you start Communication Arts research are offered by EBSCOhost. You may also want to use LexisNexis Academic (which indexes a wide variety of international newspapers as well as legal journal.s)

EBSCOHost offers many individual databases as well the ability to multiple databases simultaneously. This guide will show you how to use EBSCO Academic Premier, EBSCO Mobile, EBSCO eBooks, cite from EBSCO and get the complete list of all EBSCO databases available from the Bethel College Library.

A to Z List of Databases
This guide lists all the databases you can search through the College Library. Restricted to Bethel College students, faculty, and staff.
How to use EBSCOhost
This guide introduces you to the many ways you can search for scholarly materials and more using EBSCOhost.

EBSCOhost Basic Searching

Mass Media

News (AP, UPI, etc.)
P News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. End users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.

Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source™ Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.

History

History Reference Source
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC., Salem Press, Stackpole Books, Toucan Valley Publications and more.

The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Reviews of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Educational Aspects

Education Abstracts
Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks, Education Abstracts covers subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC
ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Teacher Reference Center
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.

Need to find the full text?

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder checks all library resource (both online and print) to see if the article you want is available in full text.

Communication Arts: Find Articles