LibGuides: Education: Find Articles

Education databases

Education Abstracts
Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks, Education Abstracts covers subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Content Includes:

Indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983
Indexing for books on education published after 1995
ERIC
ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals.
Included are: Booklist
Education
Education Digest
Education Week
Educational Leadership
International Journal of Early Years Education
Journal of Education
Journal of Educational Research
Phi Delta Kappan
Reading Teacher
School Library Journal
And many others...
Teacher Reference Center
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.
Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Databases for K-12 students

The databases listed below are purchased by the State Library of Kansas and should be accessible at all public schools (and your home!) in Kansas

Britannica Online School Edition
Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica.
Educators will enjoy quick, easy access to state standards and benchmarks linked to supporting articles. Conveniently organized by topic and grade level, these articles plus hundreds of printable and online curriculum-based learning activities are ideal for use in the classroom, media center, or computer lab.

Learning Materials
Take advantage of study guides and exercises that cover English, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies.

Multimedia
View 86,000 graphics plus thousands of animations, audio clips, and videos.

Daily Content Features
New "Biography of the Day" and "This Day in History" articles are released daily.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.
Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school libraries, contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines.
All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps, and flags.
TOPICSearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
TOPICsearch™ contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

Finding book reviews

Book Reviews
by Renae Stucky Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 17 views this year

Learn how to search EBSCOHost

Most of the databases listed in this guide use the EBSCOHost interface. To learn more about EBSCOHost, follow the link below.

EBSCOHost
by Renae Stucky Last Updated Feb 19, 2025 470 views this year

No full text? Check here!

If you have found journal articles you want to read, but there is no full text, click on Full Text Finder in EBSCO to see if the full text is 1) owned in paper by the Bethel College Libraries or 2) if the full text is available in any research database you can search through BCL. You can also search FTF below.

If you don't find any full text, request the article you need through interlibrary loan!

Need to find full text?

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder checks all library resource (both online and print) to see if the article you want is available in full text.