Skip to Main Content

EBSCOHost: Search

How to use Academic Search Premier, an interdisciplinary database, along with retrieving journal content, finding eBooks, using EBSCOHost Mobile, and more

Basic Search

Perform a search

1. Begin by typing your search terms into the provided search bars. If you want to find the connection between two or more concepts in the literature, put each individual search term in a different search bar. 

An example of how to enter different search terms in their own search bar. The example shows the terms "equine assisted therapy" and "post traumatic stress disorder" in two separate search bars.

2. Connect the search terms with one of three possible Boolean operators using the drop down menus to the left of the search bars to define the relationship between the search terms. Use "AND" to narrow your search, "OR" to expand your search, and "NOT" to exclude a certain term from the results. Learn more about Boolean operators here. 

4. The database may offer search suggestions to help guide your search. Evaluate their suggestions and include those that seem relevant to your topic. 

Shows example search that includes suggestions from the database.

5. Hit "Enter" or "Search" to retrieve articles from the database. 

Refine a search using filters

1. EBSCOhost databases have high-powered filters to help refine your search. 

  • Select "Full Text" to narrow the results to only those articles for which we have full-text access via the active database. 
  • Select "Peer Reviewed" to limit results to only those articles that were published in a peer-reviewed journal. 
  • Use the "All time" drop down menu to limit your results to a certain time-frame. 
  • Use the "Source type" drop down menu to limit your results to only a certain type of source (article, book, book review, etc.)
  • Use the "Show" drop down menu to control the number of results you see per page. 
  • Use the "Relevance" drop down menu to sort results listed on the current page by relevance, date newest, or date oldest. 
  • Use the three dots menu to save the current search to your account (must be logged in) or to create a search alert for the current search.

Shows EBSCO search results with filter options highlighted including the following options: all filters, full text, peer reviewed, all time, source type, show menu, relevance menu, and three dots menu.

 

  • Use the "All Filters" button to see additional filters including: databases, subject terms, publisher, publication, language and more.