LibGuides: Entrepreneurial Small Business Management: Industry research

Industry research

Put your small business in context by researching the industry as a whole. Consider what kind of opportunities or limitations might exist within the industry, who the major players are, and what analysts predict for its future development.

Databases

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Business Source Premier
This is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998
Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source® Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Small Business Source
This resource offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas and common business types. It also includes a help and advice section and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
Nearly 400 full-text periodicals
Over 450 full-text reference books
Hundreds of business videos
State-specific resources

Industry-related statistics/surveys

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Industries at a Glance
This resource from the U.S. government offers a series of brief overviews, each focused on a different industry.
Industry Outlooks (Deloitte)
Deloitte offers industry prediction reports for state government, banking and securities, commercial real estate, energy and resources, insurance, payments, process and industrial products, renewable energy, retail and talent strategies industries
International Trade Administration Office of Industry Analysis
The International Trade Administration Office of Industry Analysis provides information including international statistics, industry analysis, and trade data, as well as recent reports and news about a number of different industries.
U.S. Census Bureau - Business Builder
The Census Business Builder is a suite of services that help business owners harness the power of census data to learn more about their industry and customers.
U.S. Census Bureau - County Business Patterns
The County Business Patterns (CBP) data provides a closer look at subnational data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
U.S. Census Bureau - Economic Census
Every five years the U.S. government performs the Economic Census as an official economic measure. Reports are available for all industries. Small, medium, and large businesses in all locations are represented.
Valuation Resources - Industry Information
This portal provides access to resource guides for almost 400 industries. The resource guides point to industry research and analysis.

Industry profiles give a summary of a particular industry, outlining recent trends and predictions for the future. These are especially helpful resources for entrepreneurs when conceptualizing a new business. Easily locate industry profiles using the Business Source Premier Database using one of these two methods.

Method 1: Use EBSCOhosts' Business Source Premier to find industry reports using the "Document Type" dropdown menu, select "Industry Profile."

Method 2: Select the "Publications" tab in the top left corner of the Business Source Premier interface to locate industry profiles "By Subject & Description."

Industry data are often organized by codes assigned to industries by the United States government. Knowing the code for your industry will be helpful in your research. Use it in scholarly databases as well as government data collections to refine your findings.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code and the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code are two commonly used codes developed for and by Federal agencies within the United States to help track industry data. Learn more at the Census Bureau NAICS page and the Department of Labor SIC page.

Tip: Use the NAICS/Industry Code filter on the Business Source Premier database

Search filter NAICS/Industry code

Tip: Click on the linked NAICS/Industry Code filter title to find codes for specific industries. NAIC codes by description