LibGuides: Coronavirus Resources: Books, Journals, & Databases

eBooks

Contagion and Chaos by Andrew T. Price-Smith
ISBN: 9780262255530
Publication Date: 2008-12-05
An analysis of infectious disease as a threat to national security that examines the destabilizing effects of the 1918 Spanish Flu pandemic, HIV/AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa, SARS, and Mad Cow Disease. Historians from Thucydides to William McNeill have pointed to the connections between disease and civil society. Political scientists have investigated the relationship of public health to governance, introducing the concept of health security. In Contagion and Chaos, Andrew Price-Smith offers the most comprehensive examination yet of disease through the lens of national security.
Deadly Companions by Dorothy H. Crawford
ISBN: 9780198815440
Publication Date: 2018-04-08
Ever since we started huddling together in communities, the story of human history has been inextricably entwined with the story of microbes. They have evolved and spread amongst us, shaping our culture through infection, disease, and pandemic. At the same time, our changing human culture has itself influenced the evolutionary path of microbes. Dorothy H. Crawford here shows that one cannot be truly understood without the other.
The Germ Survival Guide by Kenneth Bock; Steven J. Bock; Nancy Faass
ISBN: 0071425969
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
From public toilets to pay phones, handshakes to hugs, burger joints to five-star restaurants, the possibility of germ-borne sickness lurks in every part of our world. More than ever, readers need professional guidance on how to protect themselves and their loved ones from infection
Plagues and Poxes by Alfred Jay Bollet
ISBN: 188879979X
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Since publication of the initial version of Plagues and Poxes in 1987, which had the optimistic subtitle "The Rise and Fall of Epidemic Disease," the rise of new diseases such as AIDS and the deliberate modification and weaponization of diseases such as anthrax have changed the way we perceive infectious disease. With major modifications to deal with this new reality, the acclaimed author of Civil War Medicine: Challenges and Triumphs has updated and revised this series of essays about changing disease patterns in history and some of the key events and people involved in them. It deals with the history of major outbreaks of disease — both infectious diseases such as plague and smallpox and noninfectious diseases — and shows how they are in many cases caused inadvertently by human actions, including warfare, commercial travel, social adaptations, and dietary modifications. To these must now be added discussion of the intentional spreading of disease by acts of bioterrorism, and the history and knowledge of those diseases that are thought to be potential candidates for intentional spread by bioterrorists.
Reverse Genetics of RNA Viruses by Anne Bridgen
ISBN: 9781118405352
Publication Date: 2012-10-11
Reverse Genetics of RNA Viruses provides a comprehensive account of the very latest developments in reverse genetics of RNA viruses through a wide range of applications within each of the core virus groups including; positive sense, negative sense and double stranded RNA viruses. Written by a team of international experts in the field, it provides a unique insight into how the field has developed, what problems are being addressed now and where applications may lead in the future. It will prove invaluable to bioscience, medical and veterinary students, those starting research in this area as well as other researchers and teachers needing to update their knowledge of this fast-moving field.

Journals

BC Collection

International Journal of Epidemiology: An official of the International Epidemiology Association, this journal publishes current epidemiological research and advancements from around the world. It’s content includes both communicable and non-communicable diseases in a variety of contexts.

American Journal of Epidemiology: The journal is one of the premier journals of epidemiology featuring articles about the latest empirical studies, methodological advances, and opinion pieces in the field. The journal’s content is produced with all of those who use epidemiological data in mind.

Annual review of public health: The Annual Review of Public Health was created for those readers working or interested in the public health field. Article content includes a variety of public health topics including epidemiology, biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice and policy.

Databases

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

PLoS Public Library of Science
PLoS is a nonprofit scientific publishing venture that will provide scientists with high-quality, high-profile journals in which to publish their most important work, while making the full contents freely available for anyone to read, distribute, or use for their own research.

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Coronavirus Resources: Books, Journals, & Databases

Off-campus access

eBooks

Journals

Databases