- American Memory
Historical collections from the National Digital Library and archival collections from the Library of Congress.
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Provides a fun and educational introduction to how the U.S. Government works.
- Constitution of the United States
Official site at the National Archives which includes a high-resolution scanned image of the original and more.
- Copyright Records at the U.S. Copyright Office
Contains records for the approximately 20 million works and documents recorded with the Copyright Office since 1978.
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Current and historical U.S. Government publications.
- Country Studies (Area Handbooks)
Includes essentially all governments in the world, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.
Machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
The Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System, providing free online access to Federal Government publications.
- Federal Agency Internet Sites
A comprehensive list, with links, to all federal agencies. Can be arranged alphabetically or hierarchically. From Louisiana State University in conjunction with the Federal Depository Library Program.
- Federal Depository Library Program
Centralized resource for the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and its librarians. The FDLP is responsible for disseminating federal government information to the American public through the nation’s depository libraries.
- Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Includes economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production. Includes official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies.
Government information gateway.
- Google U.S. Government Search
Site for searching across U.S. government information and news. Searches can be limited to content located on either U.S. federal, state and local government websites or the entire Web. Use the "Search within a site or domain" and specify .gov
Consolidates links to official federal, state, and local government information websites for the Unites States, Guam, American Samoa, Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
- Library of Congress
Access to the various catalogs of the library, the American Memory Project (subject-based access to historic maps, photos, documents, audio and video), exhibitions, Global Gateway (multilingual resources on world culture), and Thomas (legislative information, both current and historical).
- National Archives
- Presidential Libraries and Museums
Covers all U.S. Presidents, with information about presidential libraries if one has been established.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Use the Abstract as a statistical reference and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. The Statistical Abstract will no longer be updated as of 2012.
- U.S. Government Manual
Official handbook of the Federal Government. Provides details on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, executive branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
- United States Copyright Office
Site of the office of public record for copyright registration and deposit of copyright material. Includes information about copyright law and regulations.
- USA.gov (The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal)
Provides links to information from all levels of government: federal, state, local, tribal. Groups categories by topic and by audience. Lists many directories of government contacts. Reference Center gives abbreviations, calendars, forms, historical documents, laws, maps, and statistics.
- World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, the World Factbook provides summary information on the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of 271 U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and areas.